Our six business groups are managed by Deputy Director-Generals who, with the Director-General, form our senior leadership team.

Partnerships Group

Kay Booth.
Kay Booth

Deputy Director-General: Dr Kay Booth 

The Partnerships Group is responsible for achieving conservation growth through large scale, high impact partnerships.

The team has a national focus and works on projects across the country where there is an opportunity to create significant conservation growth.

The Partnerships Group has four Partnership Directors (located in Auckland, Hamilton, Nelson and Dunedin) along with three Wellington based Partnership Directors who specialise in business, community engagement and support. 

Operations Group

Michael Slater.
Michael Slater

Deputy Director-General: Michael Slater

The Operations Group is organised into eight regions across New Zealand.

Map of the operations regions (PNG, 49K)

Each region is led by an Operations Director based in Whangarei, Hamilton, Taupo, Palmerston North, Christchurch, Nelson, Hokitika and Invercargill.

The group looks after everything we manage locally including:

  • pest control and threatened species management
  • recreation work, ie tracks, camps and reserves
  • visitor centres
  • commercial opportunities and wildlife and collection permits
  • Resource Management Act, statutory land management and management planning
  • local community engagement including community conservation,  education, events and media
  • strategic iwi relationships including Treaty settlements.

The Operations Group also includes planning, permissions and land teams, engineers, Pou Tairangahau, fire and compliance work. 

Strategy and People Group

Mervyn English.
Mervyn English

Deputy Director-General: Mervyn English

The Strategy and People Group includes:

  • organisational development
  • customer engagement (communications and marketing)
  • human resources
  • health and safety
  • ministerial support
  • policy negotiations (leading our role in Treaty of Waitangi settlement negotiations)
  • strategic partnerships (leading our involvement in international conservation and building strategic science partnerships).

Science and Policy Group

Bruce Parkes.
Bruce Parkes

Deputy Director-General: Bruce Parkes

The Science and Policy Group brings together our science and technical teams with our policy specialists. This ensures these key functions work closely to support each other and are aligned towards growing conservation.

The work of the Science and Policy Group includes:

  • building our scientific and technical knowledge 
  • providing technical advice and support to apply that knowledge to conservation
  • delivering science-driven policy leadership across Government to ensure innovative and fit-for-purpose legislative protection for our nature.

The team works closely with all our business groups, other government agencies, the wider science sector, communities and other partners to develop sound conservation policy to protect our nature, and help create a national network of science and research capability that will drive conservation knowledge and innovation.

Corporate Services Group

Christeen Mackenzie.
Christeen Mackenzie

Deputy Director-General: Christeen Mackenzie

The Corporate Services Group ensures we have the business systems, tools and support we need to achieve our missions and objectives.

The group’s key functional areas are:

  • business and investment
  • business assurance
  • information systems and services
  • business shared services
  • improvement and portfolio management
  • legal services.

Kāhui Kaupapa Atawhai

Deputy Director-General: Tata Lawton

Kāhui Kaupapa Atawhai ensures we fulfil our responsibilities to Māori under the Conservation Act; manages our funding teams; and monitors the activities of the Queen Elizabeth II National Trust. 

Tata Lawton.
Tata Lawton

Te Tohu Huarahi (Future direction/strategic positioning): Leads the integration of Kaupapa Māori in DOC as essential to conservation management and works to position us to meet our responsibilities to Māori under the Conservation Act.

Te Putahitanga (Strategic partnerships): Coordinates our connection with whanau, hapū and iwi with the Pou Tairangahau network. Works closely with the our Policy Negotiation Unit regarding the Treaty settlement process.  

Te Kotahitanga (Strategic cultural capability): Leads projects and processes to build our cultural awareness and cultural capability to enable us to work effectively in a Māori dimension.

Whenua Muna (Non-departmental funds): This grouping comprises the Ngā Whenua Rāhui and the Mātauranga Kura Taiao Fund. Also part of this group is Pūtea Urutapu which is the Nature Heritage Fund and Biodiversity, Condition and Advice Fund as well as the Terresterial and Freshwater Biodiversity Information Systems Fund.

Back to top